1st Trimester

When to tell coworkers?

I'm a teacher so I work with all women. I had my first appt Tuesday. I was thinking of telling my coworkers tomorrow, but do you think that is too early?

Just curious what other people think.   When is everyone else telling their work?
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: When to tell coworkers?

• I'm a teacher, too. Two co-workers and my principal know, but only because I had to go out on bed rest (hopefully just for a week) due to a subchorionic hematoma. So I came clean. :)  I wasn't planning on saying anything until weeks 12-13.  I'm only 7 w 3 d, so I was a little bummed to tell them so early.

I would say go with whatever makes you comfortable. :) For my first, I told the principal at 8 weeks after my 1st appointment (out of courtesy to get a sub lined up for my leave -- and because I was brand new to the school and worried about judgement). I had also told a couple co-workers people earlier in confidence, but word got around quickly (small school) and I had a lot of panicky parents. They got over it, but there were a few uncomfortable weeks in there! Good luck -- and congrats!
    DH & I: 29
    TTC #1 4/2009 -  DD 2/5/10
    TTC #2 since October 2011
    2IF issues
    7/2013 - IUI #1: 50 units Follistim +  Ovidrel  = BFN
    8/2013 - IUI #2: 50 units Follistim +  Ovidrel  = BFP! Beta #1 (12 dpiui) 8/21: 45  Beta #2 (16 dpiui) 8/26: 301 Beta #3 (21 dpiui) 8/30: 1,929. 1st Ultrasound 9/4 - One perfect sac. 2nd Ultrasound 9/13 - Heartbeat at 124 bpm! Anniversary  

• I'm a teacher too and most of mine already know because I can't stop smiling!  Haha!