Baby Names
Options

How important is popularity to you?

Question ladies... how important is popularity when you choose your baby name? DH is in love with Sophia but I hesitate because it is literally the number one name for the past 5 years. I love the name, and meaning, but I don't want my DD to be one of ten "Sophias" in her class.

Should we focus on what we really love, or think about popularity in this case? For the record, DD#1 is Annabelle Rose - which is usually top 50 popularity.

Re: How important is popularity to you?

• Options
    I try to avoid loving first names in the top 20 or so.  As a teacher, I often times have more than one of some names in a class, and I just don't want to add to that.

Sophia is a great name, but between Sophia and Sofia, there are a lot of little girls with that name running around.

That said, if you love it and don't love anything else as much, use it.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers   
     Lilypie Third Birthday tickers  Lilypie First Birthday tickers

• Options
    As an Elizabeth, it was annoying but manageable.  I prefer not to have a top ten name child, though my husband and I have a favorite in the top 10 too.  It is nice that people will know how to pronounce the name. With Elizabeth, there are more nicknames than the Sophia's of the world.  That is something to consider.  Using a strong following middle name could be a way to differentiate your Sophia from the others, like Sophia Grace and using two "first names."
    Married 8/12
    MC 4/15
    BFP 10/10/16

Babysizer Geeky Pregnancy Tracker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I personally am trying to avoid top 500, but that's more my husband and I being name snobs then anything else. Which is really hard with 50 spelling variations for each name because everyone wants a special name for their kid.

If you love a name, and especially if it has meaning to you, go for it.
  • Options