April 2013 Moms
Options

Needing to vent

So I'm getting ready to go back to work after almost 4 months off.  I'm a teacher and the birth of my son worked out perfectly where I could take the last 7 weeks off and not have to go back to work.  Now that I only have a week and a half left at home I'm started to get emotional about leaving my baby all day, everyday.  It just really annoys me that when I try to talk to my husband about how I'm feeling he just tells me to get over it.  Anyone else already back to work?  How did you handle it?

Re: Needing to vent

• Options

imageandertrr:
    I've been back for 4 weeks now. My husband kind of has that perspective...like he just wishes I could accept things I can't change, and stop being so emotional about it. Not in a dickish way but like hey, this is reality way. It was really hard but it literally got better every day. I'm used to it now...still don't love it, but it's doable now. Good luck to you. Sometimes guys don't see things the way we do, and it comes out like they're a holes, but I think most guys are just being realistic.

This.  men are different.  They will never see things the way we do.  If you're trying to express to him your frustration and he comes back in a way you feel is jerky-let him know that it sounds like he's being insensitive.  Spell it out for him.

And like pp said...I've been back to work for almost six weeks, and it does get easier each day.  And my baby is home with H all day...not daycare!  So I have just about the perfect set up...and it was still hard when I first went back.

Good luck! 

Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options