Working Moms

Night time care rates

I recently met someone who works nights and is in a major bind to find suitable care for her infant. We've recently had some financial setbacks, so I'm trying to find a way to make more money. I'm considering provding overnight child care for a 4 month old in my home in a low-mid cost living area. I would be taking care of the baby along with my 2 children during mostly sleeping hours approx. 8:30pm-6:30am. I have many years of child care experience (nanny, au pair, infant/toddler teacher) and I'm an elementary teacher who is currently on maternity leave. The job would be 5 nights per week. What do you think would be a fair weekly rate?

Re: Night time care rates

• That honestly sounds like a lot of work! Does the baby STTN? I can see it working out ok while you are on maternity leave, but then you'll be taking care of 2 babies through the night. I'm not sure what a fair rate would be in your area, what does a daytime nanny run?
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • mle929mle929 member
    Nannies charge 12 to 15 dollars per hour here to go to the child's home. In home daycares charge 150 dollars per wk. I was thinking of charging 6075 per night.

• Loading the player...
  • mle929mle929 member
    Bfp ...that should say 60 to 75 dollars.

• I have no idea what's "standard" but I think that sounds reasonable. 

I also think it sounds doable.  Parents of twins handle two babies at night.

I would just be really clear with her about expectations on sleep training, frequency of night feedings, etc.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker
  • How much does she make? If she's being paid $10 an hour-- totally not worth it to pay you $60 a night. If in home daycares are $150 a week...and you'll be watching her child during sleeping hours...$150/wk seems like the top of what you should be charging.
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickersLilypie Pregnancy tickers