2nd Trimester

How to hold in your pee?

I'm going to get my ultrasound to hopefully figure out the gender of my little one in about three weeks, the doctor informed me the i have to drink 32oz of water prior to my appointment and keep it held in. I am not very good at holding my bladder, so I decided to drink 32oz of water everyday and hold it as long as I can for practice(I can only hold it for about 30mins... yikes!). I've been researching tips to hold your pee but I was wondering if any of you guys had tips that worked for you that you guys would share with me!

Re: How to hold in your pee?

• Oh dear.  That sounds like torture.  I have no advice, just wanted to say good luck.  I can barely hold my pee for 30 minutes too.  Maybe chug the water in the waiting room, hopefully your scan won't take longer than 30 minutes.  
  • Hmm, I am not sure. I thought I read it was not good to hold in your pee while pregnant. I am interested in what you learn.
    Me:37 DH:40 Married 7/2009 TTC since 5/2012 
    BFP 4/2013, Our Christmas Miracle Due 12/18/2013
  • Loading the player...
  • No tips here, but I have never had an ultrasound with a full bladder so I wouldn't worry about making sure you hold the whole 32 oz. I am sure you will be fine. GL!
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • bel194bel194 member
    A friend of mine had to drink a lot of water before her anatomy scan too but they had her go to the bathroom halfway through. Maybe they will have you do the same too and you won't have to hold it that long. She that they told her it helps to get the baby to move in case they need to get a better view I guess.
    BFP #1: due 6/17/2013, DD born 6/25/13
    BFP #2: due 6/30/2017, MMC found 12/7/2016
    BFP #3: due 10/21/2018 
  • imagebel194: