Working Moms

Moms of 2+ kids, talk me off the ledge.

I've been working for the same company for 8 years. I make pretty good money so I never thought about quitting to staying home once I had my daughter (OK maybe I did when it was almost time to go back and she was 3 months old).

Well suprisingly we found out when we got pregnant that we are expecting twins. One baby planned, the other a surprise. Big Smile

Well I just dropped DD off at her new daycare (we just moved) and all of a sudden I started panicking about how we're going to pay for 3 kids in daycare. I mean, we're looking at about $2000 a month.

It can be done right? I know we need to cut back on lots of things (like eating out, frivolous spending, etc). Any tips to help ease the pain of writing that check?

TIA!

Re: Moms of 2+ kids, talk me off the ledge.

• Does the DC give you a break for having multiple children enrolled?

We pay about $1400 for one child in DC right now.  It can be done but you will definitely have to think about where you'll get the money from.  We made double payments on one of our cars after I got pregnant so we'd only have one car payment once DD was born.  You've got time to plan. 

And wow, CONGRATS! A baby is exciting news but twins, double exciting!  

• image82Sonia:

Does the DC give you a break for having multiple children enrolled?

We pay about $1400 for one child in DC right now.  It can be done but you will definitely have to think about where you'll get the money from.  We made double payments on one of our cars after I got pregnant so we'd only have one car payment once DD was born.  You've got time to plan. 

And wow, CONGRATS! A baby is exciting news but twins, double exciting!  

Thank you!