Breastfeeding

3 week old... cluster feeding, fussing - over-supply?

Hi everyone!

I had our first child - Anna Grace - on June 22nd. She was a great latcher from the beginning, and other than some engorgement in the beginning, things are/were going well. She weighed 6.13 at birth, 6.9 at discharge and 7.9 at her two week check-up so she seems to be eating enough!

In the last week, though, DD isn't opening as big to latch - she is almost pinching her lips before latching. She is also getting mad, shaking her head, arching her back and yelling out  in the middle of feedings. About a week ago, she started cluster feeding in the evening which we attributed to a growth spurt, though it's still happening 9 days later... I don't think I have an over-supply, but I've never done this before so I don't really know!

Any suggestions? She never seems full and is often frustrated...

photo 10ebb789-afb8-45aa-93a6-7e8da795dd51_zpse91502e6.jpg
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: 3 week old... cluster feeding, fussing - over-supply?

• maybe an overactive let down?  I would look up that and oversupply on kellymom.com, I found a lot of helpful info there.  For me, laid-back nursing and block feeding helped a ton around that time.  Also, my DD was a cluster feeder in the evenings for a long time - but she STTN very early on, so it was a worthwhile trade off for me :)
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker         
  • kmc217kmc217 member