Food Allergy

Only one with food allergies in their circle?

My DH and I don't have food allergies--our daughter does though. But we are the lone family in our extended family (cousins, nieces/nephews, etc) that have food allergies. Also out of all of our friends and their young kids, we don't have any friends with food allergies either.

I feel like we are the only ones around that deal with food allergies. I know we aren't because I am a teacher and some of my students have them--but in our circle of family and friends no one else has food allergies.

It is super frustrating sometimes. 

My daughter is my hero.

Re: Only one with food allergies in their circle?

• HUGS! I understand how you feel.  Lots of friends and family with LOs and not one allergy or health problem to be seen.  My DD has DS, heart defect, and milk allergy.  It hurts the most when I go to a family party and they "know" I have to be dairy free for LO but I get there and there is NOTHING I can eat.  It makes it hard to enjoy the party when all the goodies are forbidden and I'm starving.  We usually end up leaving early so that I can get something to eat.
  • I am in the same boat.  My older sister had the nerve to tell me it's my fault my daughter is allergic to peanuts because I didn't eat enough while I was pregnant.  She also said my LO is gonna be "that kid".  How horrible!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Yep, it sucks. I HATE feeling like the only one. It's so frustrating. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Yup, we can't get our extended families to take DS's food allergies seriously.  To be clear, DS doesn't just have mild reactions, he had anaphylaxis when he was exposed to fish, and that tested on a lower level of severity compared to his peanut allergy (thankfully we've never given him peanuts before).