May 2013 Moms

EPers

I'm not sure if this has already been discussed or not, so I apologize if it has!
For those that are EP, how often and how long do you pump? How much do you pump in that time, on average? How much of what you pump does your LO eat?
I'm thinking of switching to EP, but I wanted to get some feedback.

Thanks!

Re: EPers

• I pump every 3 to 5 hours for 20 minutes and get anywhere from 5 to 7ozs. He eats 2.5 to 3ozs on demand. I have been eping since he was born.

Edited because I am new at this. Haha
  • imageoutgoing101:
    I pump every 3 to 5 hours for 20 minutes and get anywhere from 5 to 7ozs. He eats 2.5 to 3ozs on demand. I have been eping since he was born.

Edited because I am new at this. Haha

:

I figured you didn't pump every 35 hours and you meant 3 to 5....that'd be sweet if we could only pump every 35 hours and produce enough for our LOs!
  • Loading the player...
  • I pump every 56 hours and get 24 oz each time. We supplement with formula.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • First of all, if you are BFing and it is working for you, I would advise not to switch to EPing. Not only are you still tied to the hunger needs of your baby (feeding bottles), but you are also tied to your pump around the clock. Even if you get someone to feed the baby a bottle for you, you still have to pump during that feeding. Makes it hard to get out and about when you have to milk yourself every couple hours. Just my two cents!

That being said, I EP and pump every 2 to 4 hours and get 3 to 6 oz total each time (more in the morning, less at night). I feel like this is pretty low compared to other EPers, but it meets the needs of LO who eats 3 or 3.5 oz every 2 to 3 hours. I have been trending pumping the same amount she eats a day, but I'd like to have more to build up more of a stash.

Right now I only have a one-day stash built up (there are 30 oz in the fridge and LO eats about 25 oz a day). LO is 5 weeks.

(Edited for spelling and clarity.)