September 2013 Moms
Options

Doctor won't sign off on TDap

Ugh. So I have an HMO so my primary care physician has to sign off on anything for it to be covered. I requested the TDap vaccine because the CDC recommends getting it during third tri to pass some immunity to the baby. She said she won't sign off til I deliver.

I know I am not a doctor, but I feel like I should be able to make informed decisions about my own family's health care, especially when it is a CDC recommendation! 

Re: Doctor won't sign off on TDap

• Options
    That's bizarre. I'd push your doctor. It's recommended because some if the immunity can be passed on to the baby. Was this a primary care or OB?
    Due September 4th! Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options
    bexsdbexsd member
    Primary care. My OB said it is fine, but my insurance requires primary care request everything.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

With such a sue-happy culture, most docs/PCPs don't want to touch anything OB related. While it sucks, I'm not all that shocked.

If you really want it, you could always pay OOP for it. I think it's around $70. Or maybe your OB could write a letter to your PCP saying they recommend it?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Options
    Just go get it at your local CVS or Walgreens, you don't need a prescription from your doctor and you pay out of pocket, It's not expensive so you won't have to worry about your insurance covering it.
  • Options
    imagebexsd:
    Primary care. My OB said it is fine, but my insurance requires primary care request everything.

Sorry, I read that but it didn't register in my brain!
    Due September 4th! Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options
    bexsdbexsd member

imagejunewife:
    If you're planning to breastfeed, immunity will be passed that way as well if you get the shot after delivery.