Working Moms
Options

How nice do I have to be?

If you make it to the end of this, please let me know how you would handle this situation. (And yes, I know it may not be the best idea to write all of this in a post, but at this point I'm not sure I care...)

I'm a teacher, and have been working at the same school for three years now. All during the past three years, my direct supervisor has been really nice and encouraging. He has written me glowing evaluations, told me what an excellent job I'm doing, and has never had any major criticisms of me (in all honesty, he should have had SOME criticisms...but no, he didn't).  

A few months ago, my supervisor pulled me aside and told me that he would not be recommending me for tenure this year. Which means that I'll be out of a job once this year's contract runs out. He basically told me that I was an "A" quality teacher, but not an "A+" quality teacher, and right now the standards are really high and he's being discouraged from granting anyone tenure, blah, blah, blah... He actually cried when he told me. I know he feels bad, and I know he's got the right to make the decision he made (legally, he can let me go for no reason at all) but I still think the whole thing is lame. I think it was cruel, misleading, and a little short-sided to gush over the great job I was doing for three years, only to tell me at the last minute that I'd have to go because some magical spark was missing.