August 2013 Moms

Birth plans?

What are your birth plans? Are you planning on doing it naturally, having a scheduled C-Section, home birth etc? Just wanted to hear some other ladies birth plans!

Personally, I am planning a natural water birth. My hospital has a great facility that offers it, and I'm VERY excited to try it out! I've heard many good things about it.

Re: Birth plans?

• zora51zora51 member

That's neat your hospital offers that!! :)

I'm planning a natural birth.. possibly laboring in a tub (but don't want a water birth). Planning on med-free, and I don't want an IV in me. I'm having a Doula, and as I'm a Music Therapist, and would love to have Music Therapy-Assisted Childbirth, I'll be half-doing it myself, with my husband in charge of the actual music. I'll be in a hospital, but with a Nurse Midwife, and they're soo good at trying to let the woman do things on her own, naturally as much as possible. These are my plans; we'll see what happens. :) My Doula is also a midwife in training and is bring her home birth kit JUST in case when she meets us here at home, since my mom went SUPER quick with all of her kids (5).

• The Music Therapy-Assisted Childbirth sounds really fascinating!! 
    Zora51 - is this your first?

• Loading the player...
  • I am going to have LO in a birthing center and will be doing it natural if I can help at all. My 2nd was a natural birth so unless I stall I know I can do it.
    imageimageimageimage

• FTM here, but the plan/goal is to go med free. There is a birthing center across the street from my hospital, but my OB doesn't deliver over there. Something about too many patients having to be rushed back over for emergency c-sections (?). So the entire practice only delivers in hospital. But in every delivery room there is a Jacuzzi tub, birth ball and bar, etc. Plus, my OB is extremely supportive of anyone wanting to birth med-free.

• imagezora51: