Babies: 0 - 3 Months

After you deliver

FTM due in 3 weeks. How soon after you deliver are you able to exercise the way you use to, meaning running, crunches and lifting heavier weights?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: After you deliver

• It completely depends on the person, what kind of delivery you had, your recovery, etc. Most people wait till their 6 week postpartum appointment to get cleared for it.
  • I was walking two weeks postpartum, though I started lifting weights after 6 weeks because I used to lift heavy weights (150+lbs deads, cleans, squats, etc.). I haven't started running yet though, have been waiting for my son to be able to hold his head up and have strong neck control before I use the jogging stroller, even though the road is straight, there is some indentations.

If you feel like you can walk and if you do and aren't excessively bleeding then I think it'll be okay. You know you've done too much when you bleed a lot or if you are really very sore /extra tired the next day.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • imageMrsWindyCity:
    It completely depends on the person, what kind of delivery you had, your recovery, etc. Most people wait till their 6 week postpartum appointment to get cleared for it.

This. I ended up trying to work out earlier than the 6 week mark, and I ended up getting really sore down below. After that, I just waited until I had the ok from my OB.

• I ran 5 miles/day up to the day I went into labor, and started walking/running 10 days PP. I started running less than 1 mile at a time, but at 4 weeks PP, I can do 5 miles fine. So it really depends on what you're still doing while pregnant and what your delivery is like. I had no stitches, btw. But take my advice, and do NOT ride a bike before 3 weeks!
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers