February 2013 Moms

How can you tell if LO is "ready" for solids?

Let me open this by saying I'm in no rush to give my LO solids, but I'm a FTM and have noticed that DS has started making what can only be described as chewing motions with his jaw. It literally looks like he has gum in his mouth. I've even looked in his mouth before because I've been convinced he got something in his hands while playing on the floor and got it into his mouth. Not the case. Is this an indicator that DS is getting ready for solids? He's four months today. Is it a indicator of teething? Or does my kid just have a weird behavior that has no hidden agenda, haha? Like I said, I'm not rushing to shove food in his mouth, but I'm new at this and I read a lot on here that you'll know when LO is "ready" for solids. Just curious what that might look like?

I'm also aware that the current recommendation is 6 months, so I could ignore all cues and just wait for that age to come around. But it would still be nice to know what magic things happen that show LO is ready.

Re: How can you tell if LO is "ready" for solids?

• I think some people think "Oh they are looking at my food, and reaching for the spoon, so they are ready."  My son would put pretty much anything in his mouth at this point, and likes to chew because of teething.  Babies also like to imitate sounds and facial expressions.  I think its hard to go by stuff like that.  I honestly had no clue with DD, and started with oatmeal a little after 6 months.  She didn't spit it out, and acted like she enjoyed it, so I continued with solids.
    photo 997d7ce2-9f44-4a90-b78f-0ddf5f488d41_zps82d963f4.jpg
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker