Breastfeeding

Wit's End

My baby is now 5 weeks old and from the start breastfeeding has been a struggle. I have been trying to work on getting a deeper latch with no luck. I've seen a lactation consultant a couple times and when they assist it's a better experience but once I get home it's a different story.

LO isn't good about opening her mouth wide and I'm not good at getting her on quick enough. I've been trying the laid back/nurturing positions reclining back which is more relaxing, but now she'll move her head around and pull my nipple upwards which hurts.

The latch is bad enough on my right breast that I'm blanching and loosing blood flow due to her clamping on the nipple. She also "windmills" her arms if I try the cross cradle making it harder to get her on.

Sorry for the long rant but I feel like after so many weeks and getting help I should be better at this. Still feeling so frustrated makes me feel like a failure. At times I want to give up, but I want to do this for my baby.

Any advice? Any positions or tricks?

Re: Wit's End

• shotzieshotzie member
    The football hold is great for getting a deeper latch. Have you tried swaddling her before you nurse? That would keep her arms contained so she can't flail them around.

Hang in there, I promise it gets easier with time!
    someecardscom - Im well on my way to getting absolutely nothing done today
    DD1: allergic to eggs & dairy Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    c/p 4/1/11

DD2: milk and soy protein intolerant, allergic to eggs, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, bananasBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    MSPI Moms Check-In Blog
  • imageshotzie:
    The football hold is great for getting a deeper latch. Have you tried swaddling her before you nurse? That would keep her arms contained so she can't flail them around.

Hang in there, I promise it gets easier with time!