Natural Birth

Placenta Encapsulation Question

For those who did this or are planning on doing it, did you decide on the raw method or the Chinese method, and why? I'm leaning toward raw, but wanted to hear from others on their preferences and experiences.

Thanks! 

Re: Placenta Encapsulation Question

• abell77abell77 member

I am planning on doing it this time around and the person I am hiring uses the Chinese method.  Her reasoning behind this is while with the raw method moms report a higher burst of energy initially after the capsules are taken, this can sometimes lead to a new mom overdoing it and being too active when she should still be taking it easy and recovering.  She feels the Chinese method offers a more "slow and steady" building of energy.  Also because the steaming process used in the Chinese method helps to kill off any bacteria (remember the placenta passes through the birth canal where it can be exposed to bacteria, including fecal matter).

This is my first time doing this so I'm not trying to say one method is bad and another is good, just wanted to offer the reasons why the person I am hiring chooses the Chinese method.  For what it's worth, she will do the raw method for those who specifically request it. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker image Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • I did the TCM form.  Like the PP poster I liked that the placenta was steamed which helps kill any bacteria that is has been exposed to during or after birth.I thought my pills were great and I would definitely do it again with the next one.
  • Loading the player...
  • JKB1986JKB1986 member
    imagejoules235: