Breastfeeding

coffee BF'ing

Wondering how bad is it to drink coffee every once in awhile? My DD is 2 weeks today. I haven't had a Starbucks in forever LOL but I'm wondering how bad is it to drink coffee while BF'ing.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: coffee BF'ing

• Moderation  is key. I drink a cup about once a day. Have a Starbucks! You deserve it!
  • I drink coffee every day. I would die without it.
  • Loading the player...
  • I drink two small cups a day.  It just gives me a jump start.  But then I drink water the rest of the day and tons of it.

• It's funny you posted this...1] Happy 2 weeks, our lil man is 2 weeks today too. 2] I've been drinking decaf for at least 9 months and just added a small amount of caffeinated caramel flavored dunkins to my k-cup of decaf. I need it since my 4 yr old is home from school and has been awake since 4:30---yikes!

I don't think a little will bother them...
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

CafeMom Tickers

• My LO is 4 weeks and 2 different LC's have told me I can have up to 2 cups per day after the first 2 weeks.  I allow myself 1 cup per day right now and it's been doing the trick.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Pregnancy Ticker     

• aibreanaibrean member
    You can always have it after your morning feed when the LO goes to sleep :)
    PitaPata - Personal picturePitaPata Cat tickers
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Drink the coffee.  According to kellymom.com, milk levels are quite low (0.06-1.5% of maternal dose) and usually peak 1-2 hours after ingestion.

https://kellymom.com/bf/can-i-breastfeed/lifestyle/caffeine/

• drink the coffee!!! you'll know quickly if it bothers LO. i have at least one cup a day. It keeps me from killing DH
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickers