Working Moms

Do you and your boss like each other?

I've been working for my boss for 11 years. Along the way, I've received several promotions, and he is now senior management for a large company. He has been a great boss - supportive of me in the workplace, seemed genuinely happy for me when I told him about my pregnancies (he has 5 kids), allows me (and others) to have flexible schedules because we are expected to be available a lot off hours. Just before maternity leave, he gave me a big raise, which I definitely earned. 

But I've finally realized that he doesn't like me. He respects me, thinks I'm smart, knows I'm valuable to the organization... But he doesn't like me. 6 of his 7 direct reports are women.  Only 2 of us have kids, and he definitely shows his preference for the people that don't have kids.   I went in for a meeting with him yesterday, during my maternity leave.  I hadn't seen him for over 3 months because I had to work from home for a month before I had DD. He literally didn't even say hello to me.  There are lots of other slights that I've always written off as part of his quirky personality, but seeing him interact with the childless folks, I know now it's me...

I don't have a strong drive to get another promotion, but I plan to keep working as hard as I ever have. But I'm starting to wonder if it's sustainable for me to work for someone who clearly dislikes me personally, but respects me professionally. I like everyone on my staff, so I don't really have this issue. 

Sorry for the book... Any thoughts?? 

Re: Do you and your boss like each other?

• Netty_3Netty_3 member

I've had a boss that didn't like me for whatever reason...and chose that reason enough to try and ruin my life.  I think as long as you have respect and professional courtesy that 's a huge thing.

Although, if it's a deal breaker, look elsewhere.

AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers Anniversary
  • kaimom2kaimom2 member