June 2013 Moms

unique names...

Do people really think that chosing a unique name will make your child more special or unique? I definitely understand not wanting your child to have 5 others in their class with the same name. Some names and spellings are just sooo out there... the only reason I can think of is their parents think it will make their children be more unique. Am I wrong?? How popular is too popular of a name for your child?

Re: unique names...

• jefkjefk member

I'm a school librarian, and I have a class with 3 Matthews and 3 Jacobs.  It gets confusing - I have to remember to call on Jacob C or Matthew R.  I have another class with 3 Jacks and 2 Tylers (one a boy, Tyler, and the other a girl, Tilyr).  Obviously we have a mom who wanted something different - this little girl is forever going to have to spell her name for people, and some day put that on her resume.  Ethnic names are one thing, but odd spellings, nouns as names (Apple, Pilot), and totally made-up names just make me cringe.

Our names aren't top 10 names, but they're not weird either.  If we have a boy, we might have one or two in the same class, but that doesn't matter - I love the name too much.

• I don't mind uncommon names, but I hate you-neek names. Seriously, if you're just going to screw up the spelling of a common name: you're an idiot.The sound is still the same (as in there are still 2 Tylers in the pps class, no matter how dumb the second one is spelled). All they do is make the kid's life hell having to spell out their name forever.
    BabyFetus Ticker Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • I like the uncommon ones but some people just get silly with spelling and made up names. I was always known by the first initial of my last name in school which annoyed me, even worse when my parents chose a spelling that was no common in our area.

I love seeing the other Meghans on here with the h in the spelling! It makes me feel leas of an odd ball lol!