May 2013 Moms

Odd Interview Request

I'm headed off to another interview this afternoon and my confirmation e-mail states that the company can ask for a recent college transcript or a previous pay stub at any time.

While I think the college transcript is ridiculous - I graduated over 7 years ago and I'm pretty sure none of the classes I took will impact my job; I find the recent pay stub a huge invasion of privacy.

Have you ladies seen this before??

BabyName Ticker

Re: Odd Interview Request

• I always have to send a copy of my college transcript since I am a teacher. To me that isn't ridiculous. However, I think a recent pay stub is absolutely an invasion of privacy. Plus what about those who have been unemployed for an extended period of time. It just seems rude to me. 
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers  Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • MrsRKJMrsRKJ member
    The transcript is probably to tell them that you in fact went to the school that you claim to have gone to, received the degree you claimed that you earned and graduated.
    Welcomed our baby boy Henry on March 15, 2013 (7 weeks early!)

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

TTA until 2014

• Loading the player...
  • My husband just recently got a new job. The background check company requested his 1st and last pay stub as proof of employment. We didn't think of it as invasion of privacy. 

• The transcript I find routine. They'll often ask for that here especially if what you studied is applicable to the job. However, a pay stub seems very intrusive to me. I wouldn't feel comfortable with that.

Pregnancy Ticker
  • I can see the transcript, depending on job requirements, but the pay stub would leave you with less negotiating power. I never share my past salary.
    Charlie 8.06.08
    Emeline 5.28.13

My Blog

Post-Baby PRs
    Esri 5K 7.16.2014 - 21:30
    Heart Half Marathon 3.16.2014 - 1:43:30
    Canton City Marathon 9.8.14 - 3:30:56
  • kmcd23kmcd23 member

imagejerseygirl81: