Working Moms

First day back - how to survive

I hope this isn't asked too often here...

i go back to work on 5/16. LO is going to a day care center that I feel really good about.  But I'm already crying, grieving the time we've had while I've been on leave. 

I'm a nurse manager of a busy unit, and I know my first day back will be extremely busy getting caught up, so it will go fast. But what tips do you have to stay sane, not sob all day, and maintain productivity?  

Started TTC 2/2009
Started fertility treatments 11/2010
Ovarian dysfunction, LPD, male factor
6 failed medicated IUI's
Pregnant 5/2011 - Miscarriage at 6 weeks due to triploidy
Decided to adopt - 6/2012
SURPRISE! Pregnant without intervention - 7/2012 
Sweet Baby James Born 3/2013
Decided to be "One and Done"

....OR NOT.
Pregnant 12/2018 despite birth control pills
Here we go again...
Due 8/26/19!

Re: First day back - how to survive

• Honestly, I did not cry once this whole week (first week back) but my MIL is watching LO so I do not have to worry like some mommas. I know DS is loved on and given full attention during the day. I was SO pouty last weekend thinking about leaving him but I found that I had really missed the structure and adult conversation. I still miss him every day and check in alot but just throwing yourself into work seems to be the way to go. It does not help that everyone asks how you are but after a few days, you are just one of the people at work again. LO was 6 weeks on Tuesday so that might have been it but it was kinda fussy this week. NOt sure if it was the change in routine or not. Just a heads up. :) Good luck!
    Pregnancy Ticker