November 2012 Moms

Solids and formula

I'm thinking of starting solids and I was wondering if you ladies noticed a decrease in formula intake? Obviously he won't be eating much for be first month or so until he's increased to 3x per day, but in any case, I was curious if ounces would go down as solids came into play.
I can't commit to starting solids. I am so excited but for some reason I keep putting it off. I am going to buy the baby brezza and make it all and maybe I am concerned it'll be a pain. But I SAH and really have no reason to worry about making it. Maybe since I know I am a terrible cook when it comes to our meals, I worry I'm not cut out for baby food either. Haha. Anyways, I need to just do it because he is so so ready.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Solids and formula

• There has been minimal decrease in formula intake in our experience. I feel he has a good balance in both. We actually couldn't keep up with just formula. It seemed he always wanted to eat. Since we started solids, I think his appetite is being more satisfied. He still gets a lot of formula.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • image143BabyCakes:
    There has been minimal decrease in formula intake in our experience. I feel he has a good balance in both. We actually couldn't keep up with just formula. It seemed he always wanted to eat. Since we started solids, I think his appetite is being more satisfied. He still gets a lot of formula.
      This is where we're at!!  Except DH refuses to give solids until 6mo. when we get the pedi's ok.  I might start sneaking some banana in during MOTN feedings... kidding, just kidding... maybe.

Anyway, aren't you not supposed to decrease their formula intake when you start solids?  I thought that was bad, because the solids aren't as nutiritous, so they shouldn't be displacing the formula. Is that correct?  

"A new baby is like the beginning of all things--wonder, hope, a dream of possibilities."