High-Risk Pregnancy

what is considered high blood pressure?

Ok so I'm an ICU nurse and I know what normal blood pressure is in general but I have no clue for pregnant women. At what point do they start to worry about your blood pressure and what measures do they take BEFORE bed rest? Do they start you on meds first or go straight to bed rest? I'm almost 28 weeks and can not afford to go on bed rest for any reason at all and I'm worried because today my SBP was in the 140's when I woke up for a nap before heading to work night shift. It's never been that high, it's usually 122 after walking into the doctors office and getting up on the table etc. I already have a doctors appointment on tuesday for my 28 wk checkup. I'm now really worried about this. I've noticed my heart rate is much lower then it usually is but still within normal range. I'm now wondering if it's because of my blood pressure. I haven't had any protein in my urine so far but I've also had normal blood pressure. What do you guys think? I know you aren't doctors but I know some of you are being treated for high bp so you can tell me what your docs have done. Can you ease my mind until tuesday?! PLEASE!
BabyFruit Ticker

Re: what is considered high blood pressure?

• I was put on bed rest for high BP, no meds were offered. I am 37 weeks and they are talking about induction if it keeps staying high.
  • 140 is high I would avoid salt and rest as much as possible. Medication depends on the person and also if you have swelling.
    6 m/c
    Anovulatory cycles, increased Synthroid Diagnosed Sep 2010
    Natural cycle Dec 2010 BFP M/C 6 1/2 Weeks, D&E Jan 2011
    1 Clomid/Ovidrel BFN May 2011
    Natural cycle Aug 2011 BFP M/C 4 Weeks
    1 IUI Sept 2011 BFP M/c 7 weeks
    Provera Dec 2011 BFP M/C 3 Weeks
    DQ ALPHA HLA MATCH, High NK Cells Diagnosed Dec 2011
    IVF March 2012 BFP m/c 4weeks 5 days (IL, Prednisone)
    IVF#2w/DS July 2012 MEGA FAILURE BFN (IL, Dexamethasone)