Trouble TTC

Clomid, Metformin?

My first m/c was when I was 18. Fast forward 16 years I have my second miscarriage. The doctor doesn't believe the two are related but requested bloodwork. He said my hormones are in normal range but on the low end of the scale. I go back on the 3rd for additional test. If same results he suggested I take medication to strengthen my ovulation. I've got two friends that took two seperate medicines to get pregnant. Educate me on which would be best to ask for!

Also open to any advice on questions I should be asking or test requested. I am very new to trying to conceive. Thank you!

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Clomid, Metformin?

• Your doctor is probably correct, that two miscarriages 16 years apart may mean nothing other than the percent of women that have miscarriages.  I am sorry for your losses.  

However, if you are "new" to TTC I don't know that clomid is something that should be proscribed so quickly.  This board is full of women who are either undergoing infertility testing or have been diagnosed with IF after having tried TTC for a year (6 months for those over the age of 35).  

You might be confused as to what the doctor is talking about.  Your issue with staying pregnant might be a lack of strong progesterone after ovulation.  This makes your lining "fluffy" in order for implantation to occur in the first place and sustain a pregnancy until the placenta takes over.  The drugs you are talking about are for very specific things - and should not be handed out like candy if you request them.  They should be given, when the situation you personally are in makes it warranted.

Metformin is a drug that is given a) to people like me with diabetes or b) to people who have PCOS which is a ovary issue where many women do not ovulate on their own (no ovulation = not able to get pregnant because you're not releasing an egg).  Clearly, you do ovulate, and if there was no mention of PCOS signs - this is not the drug for you.