Working Moms

Any night shift nurses here?

Hi! I have a 1 year old and we are trying for another. I recently mde a career change and went back to nursing school. I can't stand the thought of being gone from 7am to 7pm 3-4 days a week with two young ones at home. Should I work nights instead? I know I would have to get childcare for the morning so I can sleep, but I won't be asleep all day at least.

Any thoughts, suggestions, experience would be helpful!! Thanks!!

Re: Any night shift nurses here?

• I know ppl do it but I personally would have trouble switching between the days when I worked at night and the days when i slept at night. I also can't go consistently with only 5 hrs or so of sleep. When I was in graduate school I did 2 nights a week

• I'm a nurse and although I love night shift, I don't do well switching back to days when I'm off. But, I do have plenty of friends who it works well for. 12 hour shifts do suck on the days you work, but you end up with way more time off to spend with yo
    Loving Life being Brett's Mama! Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I'm a nurse manager. I worked consistent night shifts but before I had kids. Lots of moms do it out of choice or need.

As a manager, I work nights to see my night shift staff 12 times a month. I have a 3 year old and 10 week old. Still home
  • imageMrsN052408:
    I'm a nurse manager. I worked consistent night shifts but before I had kids. Lots of moms do it out of choice or n
  • I was on nights before I had kids. I hated it. I was always sleep deprived, I would imagine it would be way worse with little ones too. A lot of moms on nights would be up for 24 hours straight all the time. I personally think my 11a to 11p shift was
    Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickersLilypie Second Birthday tickers