February 2013 Moms

Advice/vent - breast vs. pump 5 day old

There might be some serious TMI so far warning. I'm going through quite a bit right now and just could use some advice/encouragement. I gave birth on the 22nd and little man is 5 days old. We have had issues with latch and I've been to a lactation consultant every day this week trying to get help. My nips were bloody and swollen from day 2 of his birth and are finally healing, pain is getting slowly better, aside from bleeding still at the very tip of both nips. His latch I think is getting better, but omg he wants to nurse constantly! Like 2-3 hours straight 2-3 times a day, not counting the smaller feedings in between and his night feedings. He is gaining weight great and is actually at his birth weight still so no loss at all. But I'm a full time graduate student and have 2.5 year old daughter who I never get to play with or be a mom to since I'm feeding the baby at the breast for hours a shot during the day. I'm getting to the point where I just want to pump about half time so the hubby can take the baby while I work on my school work and still have some time with my daughter. Am I a bad mom? I want to be able to nurse my son most of the time, but would introducing a bottle right now kill any chance of being able to successfully nurse? Has anyone else done this? I'm just wracked with guilt and feel horrible for wanting to give in so quickly, but I miss being with my daughter too. I can't even put the baby down long enough to get her on the potty because he screams for food and my poor daughter has to get put off all the time since mommy is ALWAYS feeding brother... Any advice from other moms out there would be so welcome. I don't want to have to exclusively pump like I did with my daughter, but I can see this heading in that direction just so I can have some time away from feeding and spend more time trying to get a new routine going before the hubby gets back to work in a week.