Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

17 month old bedtime? Advice?

We've had a routine down for as long as I can remember. Bedtime at 8:30, and she usually woke up about 7:30. Lately, she'll sleep until 9 or 10. I thought it was just because she'd been sick with a cold, but now It's throwing off our daytime routines (breakfast, naps, lunch, etc.). I'm thinking maybe I should try pushing her bedtime back to 7-7:30? What time do you usually put down your LO? 
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Photobucket

Re: 17 month old bedtime? Advice?

• We always put LO to sleep at 7.  No later than 7:30.  Usually wakes at 7:30am.  Worth a try.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Tickerimage
  • We put our son (19 months old) down at 7pm (bedtime routine at 6:30pm) and I am a baby sleep consultant and suggest this bed time from 12 months til 3 years old.

Good Luck! 

• Loading the player...
  • DD goes to bed at 7 and wakes up no later than 7:30. It is definitely worth a try. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I've always just taken my cues on scheduling from her. When she started getting really tired around the same time every night that became our bedtime. So now we start a bath around 8:30 and she's in bed by 9. Even then she sometimes isn't asleep until 10. She's always up by 7:30. She still takes 2 naps during the day, though that will probably change here shortly as she's 17months also. The pediatrician was surprised that she was still taking 2 naps at our last visit.
  • Also, I have no problem waking her up in the morning/ from naps if we need to get things done or stick to a schedule. Its not a common occurrence, but occasionally her afternoon nap goes a bit too long and it'll throw off bedtime if I don't wake her.
  • Mine goes to bed between 7-7:30p, and wakes between 7-7:30am.  She takes 1, 1.5-2 hour nap around noon, after lunch.

I'd suggest moving the bedtime up in tiny increments (5-10 mins) over a couple of weeks to see if you can't get an earlier schedule down.