Breastfeeding

How fast can your newborn empty your breast?

I know I'm an over producer. I always had way more than enough milk with DS. My new LO doesn't feed very long, maybe 1215 minutes on one side every 3 hours and she's done. Doesn't matter what I do to try to wake her. If I get her on the other side, she just ends up spitting it up. She has plenty of dirty diapers, so I know she's getting stuff out.

Do you think it's possible she's able to eat this quickly at only 12 days old?

Thanks!
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: How fast can your newborn empty your breast?

• Is she gaining weight?  If she is gaining weight and has enough wet/dirty diapers, then she could be that efficient.
    Married 6-7-08
    Everett 4-27-12
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • That's how DS was as a newborn too. As long as you're getting enough wet & dirty diapers, I wouldn't worry.
    Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers

Baby Birthday Ticker

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Loading the player...
  • If you are an over producer its very likely she is just fine with her 12-15 mins. your let down phase happens faster and at that stage they only need about a strawberry size to be full. Good job mommy, I think you are doing just fine!
  • For sure. Amelie has been a 10-15 minute nurser from the beginning. She's always had enough wet/dirty diapers and has been gaining weight steadily since we left the hospital.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Once my LO got over the jaundice and started gaining weight (we had some weight issues at 2 weeks), she was able to finish eating in 15 mins or less.  It takes longer to get her burped and back to sleep lol.
    Mama of 3 earth babies and 1 beautiful angel baby
  • My daughter nurses only for 10 minutes or so and only on one side. She's basically been that way since birth.