Parenting

I am MAD.

I just can't describe it any other way. I am heartbroken for the families in CT, but I am MAD. As a teacher I know how hard we work at our school to make our students feel safe. I am furious that someone took that away.  I am furious as a mom that I am going to have that small fear in my gut when I drop my kids off at school on Monday.

I am mad that the stupid gun laws in the US made this all to easy to occur. Seriously USA, I love you guys and visit often, but get a eff'n grip when it comes to your guns!

Rebecca- mom to 3 kids: DS born 2005, DD born 2007 and DS born 2010.

Re: I am MAD.

• ::walks out::
  • I understand your emotions but this is an incredibly simplistic take on this tragedy.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • as mom/parent I completely understand your fear , beside home, school is supposed to be a safe place for our children. I'm heart broken for the children, the families, and the school.  But that being said, you did hear that the gun belonged to his mother right ?, he took it from his home, not sure how gun control would have prevented that. 
  • I don't see what's wrong with the OPs post and I don't see it as ill-timed or insensitive at all. 

People should be mad about this. 

imageimage 

Unable to even.  

You don't understand the appeal of Benedict Cumberbatch / think he's fug / don't know who he is? WATCH SHERLOCK.  Until you do, your negative opinion of him will not be taken seriously.

• I get that my thinking is simplistic. However I have thought the lax gun laws in the USA were completely ridiculous for a long time. I am just surprised they never seem to change after these kind of events.

A single school shooting in Scotland led to tighter gun laws very soon after. Mass murders in Australia in the 80's led to very tight gun control there and they saw a massive reduction in shooting deaths. I just don't think you can deny the stats coming out of the US regarding shooting deaths.