Attachment Parenting

Gym daycare

Hello, I'm new to this board : I'm a single mom/college student but currently able to be a SAHM thanks to my supportive parents.

I didn't realize that my parenting style was AP till I heard more about it previously thought it was just about extended nursing my baby boy is 3 1/2 mos old and is very high maintenance lol he is very aware and likes to constantly be held and on the move. He can do about 10 mins at a time in a swing or bouncer as long as I'm in and out of the room. He recognizes people and does well w only me, my mom, and his dad. He has never slept more than 4 hrs and we avg three 2 hr stretches per night and he naps on me for 2 45 min naps per day. I swear he's trying to kill me w sleep deprivation! Any sleep advice would be appreciated!

Also, I would like to start going to the gym a few times a week which would mean using the gym daycare. I'm worried that he won't do well w strangers and that they won't be able to give him the attention he needs. Any of you used the gym daycare? Advice? Thanks!

Re: Gym daycare

• Gym daycare didn't work for us, though I tried when DD was a little older, around a year. She was not into being with strangers and cried until they came and got me off the treadmill. I didn't want to pay for a membership that I wasn't going to be able to use!

I found a stroller strides type class that is serious exercise that you bring your baby to. Try searching meetup.com for a group near you. I found this infinitely more enjoyable because I wasn't worried about my baby, she was happy with the movement and interaction, and I met an awesome group of moms with whom I still regularly socialize. It really checked a lot of boxes for me. Def. recommend giving it a try, most places will give you a free trial class.