3rd Trimester

When is there too little movement?

I do my kick counts.  And now that I'm 36 weeks, LO is running out of room so the kicks are more pushes and rolls.  Most of the time I move around so much during the day (I'm a teacher.) that I barely feel baby.  So the moment I sit down to drive home there's a flurry of activity.  Today though, she's barely moved at all.  I'm working on a kick count right now, but it's taking a long time.

Is there a point where movement slows down so much that I need to be concerned and call my OB?

Re: When is there too little movement?

• If you aren't getting 10 in an hour I always say call. They will advise you. I met a woman yesterday who almost lost her baby due to low fluid and was only checked out because of lack of movement. I also met a woman a few weeks ago who lost her baby at 39 weeks and it could have been prevented it she had done her kick counts and gone in due to lack of movement.
  • I was just at my ob today and she said if there is no movement for 1 hour or less than 10 movements in 2 hours then to call. 10 an hour is excessive. Concentrate on feeling every roll, punch and kick. Try to drink something very cold and lay down. Dont panic yet.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • I would chug a juice box and lay down for a bit. If that doesn't get LO moving go ahead and call.
  • I agree with pp on the 10 an hour minimum. Drink an ice cold glass of water and put your feet up... that usually does the trick. GL!
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Not stressing yet.  It's something MH just asked about and I realized she hadn't moved on her normal schedule today.  And this evening is still very quiet, occasional moves but no dance party in there.  I have an appointment Thursday but didn't know if I should call before then.