2nd Trimester

12 hour shifts....help!

Ok, so I know I'm not quite to second tri, but I thought maybe more people can relate than in first tri.  I am a nurse and work 12 hour shifts on my feet.  Let me clarify...the floor i work on is crazy! I am literally running around all day, moving heavy patients, etc. I just worked the weekend (2 12hours) and I am in sooo much pain! I almost started crying at work because i felt like all my energy had been drained from me at the end of my shift.  i literally felt like i was walking in slow motion and people kept saying i looked so tired.  I'm so busy it's hard to find time to drink water, pee, or take breaks.  We only take one 30 minute break and if we're lucky one 15 minute (we're supposed to take 2 15 mins but no one EVER does). My hips hurt the worst, also my legs, back and belly. Fortunetly I am only part time, so I work 2 12 hour shifts a week, but this is harder than it sounds. I feel like a wimp to even mention it to my doctor.

I somehow made it to 8 weeks before my due date with baby #1, but I'm already wondering how long i'm going to be able to keep this up my belly isn't even that big. i'm in shape and exercise, eat healthy etc.  ANY ADVICE?!?!?! 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker

Re: 12 hour shifts....help!

• Could you change floors? Is one shift (night, say, when people are mostly sleeping) easier than another?
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • First of all, congratulations on working 2 12 hr shifts a week! I know for a fact that I would not be able to do that and Im almost 15 weeks!! So hats off to you! :)