February 2013 Moms

Flu Shot?

Hi Everyone...

I am wondering if people are getting the flu shot while pregnant? I am not sure about what I want to do.

I hate getting the flu shot anyways, I only started getting it in the past few years because of my job, but last fall I opted out and it was the first fall I DID NOT get sick!! So I am wondering if you are or if you aren't and your reasons for the decision while carrying such a prescious LO!?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Flu Shot?

• My OB ordered it as part of my prenatal care since I'm PG during prime flu season. I got mine around 13 weeks.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• I wondered the same thing.  I NEVER get a flu shot but my doctor pushed one on me.  Of course, I instantly felt sick (it was all in my head but still.... )
  • Loading the player...
  • I got mine, mostly because I work in a hospital. But I have also heard that getting the flu while pregnant can be dangerous for the baby, and that the baby will then have the antibodies against the flu after it's born if you do get the flu shot while pregnant.
    PCOS with long, irregular cycles
    First round of Clomid in May 2012= BFP #1, DD born January 2013 
    BFP #2 in January 2014, DS born September 2014

View Full Size Image     View Full Size Image   

• I've never gotten one and haven't had issues with getting sick. However, I'll ask my Dr about it at my appt on Friday and if they recommend it, I'll get one. I think te flu can be very harmful to baby, and the risks of the flu are greater than risks from the vaccine.