2nd Trimester

Braxton Hicks already?

Hoping some of you can relate! I see my doctor next week so I will ask him then but I'm just trying to see how normal this is. For the past week I've been having BH contractions irregularly (I'm 21 weeks). I'm a part-time cross country coach and sometimes it happens at practice (which doesn't really surprise me because I'm guessing it's related to dehydration). This past weekend DH and I went to a movie and I had about 5-6 throughout the movie. I've had at least 2 a day at very random times. At first I was scared because I didn't have any until about 37 weeks with DS. But they aren't regular and they never seem to increase or continue on for a prolonged time. From what I read online, they can start as early as 2nd tri. It would make me feel so much better if some of you are feeling the same thing... especially if you ahve already talked to your doctor about it!

Thanks!

Re: Braxton Hicks already?

• I just posted this exact same question on the Feb 2013 board lol

I am having them too, but I dont remember having them this early with my first two children. Everything I have read seems to say it is normal. I go to the dr Friday and I plan on bringing it up then. I am not too worried since its not painful, and I still feel LO moving around in there.

D14 December siggy Free for all

DD born 12/07/04  
    DS1 born 11/07/06
    Angel baby Addy 12/03/11 due to MTHFR
    DS2 born 01/29/13
    DS3 due 12/26/14                                                                                               
  • I started having them around 20 weeks when I was pregnant with my son.  The doctors told me that if I had 6 in an hour, I should call.  The doctors wound up sending me to L&D 3 times, and each time they put me on IV fluids and that eventually stopped them.  It continued pretty much until I delivered at 39 weeks, but the contractions never caused dilation, PTL or any other complications.  It was really just a nuisance.