Babies: 0 - 3 Months

Would you describe your birth as traumatic? clicky poll

I was a labor and delivery nurse for 6 years and during that time I watched a fair number of women experience what I would describe as a traumatic birth. I am curious what the majority of you would say.

If you say yes, feel free to describe. In my experience some women experience a PTSD-like reaction to their deliveries.

[Poll]
TTC #3 since Feb 2014 DS 1: 2010 DS 2: 2012

Re: Would you describe your birth as traumatic? clicky poll

• Although it was obviously worth it, my delivery was hell. My water broke 3 weeks early, my husband wasn't there and I was on 34 mL/hour of pit for thirty hours before they were willing to do a c/s. I had back labor so the epidural was completely pointless, it only made it so a nurse had to come and flip me every fifteen minutes the entire time. I was alone and it was honestly the worst experience of my life. The staff was just absolutely amazing though, only way I made it through. I brought them a reeeeally big cake after I was released. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imagetheresat858:
    No, but with different staff and without my doula, it could have been.  I wanted a natural birth and had to be induced for medical reasons.  My nurses asked me about every change to my birth plan even though it was clear from the start that nothing was going to go according to plan.  I really appreciated that, and it helped me cope with the birth I had (water broken at 1cm when pit couldn't be turned up; epidural at 4cm due to exhaustion, ending in vaginal birth finally).

This is my experince but i had to get the epidulra for high bp and hated that i never felt anything! So i said yes! 

• Loading the player...