1st Trimester

Heart rate for pregnancy exercise ?

What did your DR say about it?

My appt is on the 1st but I need to get back to my eliptical! UGH!! I feel so yuky!

I have a HR monitor and the info says "if pregnant, consult a physician"

Thoughts? TIA!!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Heart rate for pregnancy exercise ?

• i am really glad you asked this, i have been taking a spinning class and the instructor told me to watch my heartrate... but didn't know how high is too high...
  • disclaimer:  i am not a doctor

that said; my ob told me that my body could handle what i had been doing in the last few months.  he said to make sure that i don't start anything new that my body isn't used to.  he said new research shows world class athletes continuing to train throughout their pregnancy.  now... i have scaled way back... because i'm a big fat worry-wart. :)  but - thatsa' what he said.

gl

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker

{forever remembered and missed my sweet babe}

*m/c 10/10/10 - 7w0d*

• Loading the player...
  • Everyone is on fire with the questions I have... I want to get back on the elliptical, too. I don't care if I have to go slow at zero incline.. I just want to exercise. I've settled for taking the dogs on longer walks a few times a day.
  • My dr just told me to make sure that the staff in the gym know I am pregnant and they will advise me on thier policy for working out No mention of heart rate though. Funny thing is my mom owns the gym.. LOL Go figure. I told DH last night we might have to tell her sooner than planned. I have been missing this week so far because I havent told her but its only a matter of time that she asks me why I havent been going in like I usually do.
  • I've heard to keep your heart rate under 140bpm.
  • Dont go over 140 bpm.  That's what I have read and what my doctor recommends.

• imageelysialabita:
    I've heard to keep your heart rate under 140bpm.