1st Trimester

Bikram Hot Yoga?

I have been doing bikram hot yoga for about 2 1/2 years now.  I stopped for the past two months because i thought it wasn't good when i was TTC. I am 4 weeks pregnant now.  Is it safe to go back to bikram yoga?

Re: Bikram Hot Yoga?

• I wouldn't go without approval from my Dr., an increase in body temp isn't good for you when pregnant.

There's a topic about this in the Health & Exercise section and the consensus is no, go for regular yoga instead.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I don't know much about that type of yoga, but anything that raises your body temp substantially while pregnant is not a good idea.  Have you thought about prenatal yoga?
    DD #1 Amber Lynn 12/2000, DD #2 Leia Elizabeth 6/2009, DD#3 Aayla Ruth 08/2012. Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I would not, I'd be worried about my body temp becoming too elevated. I would personally stick to regular yoga but ultimately it's your call.
    July 20th, 2012: Never forget the day the fb douchebags tried so hard, but ultimately failed. Viva la October 2011! Yeah, I called you douchebags.

BFP 1/18/11, EDD 10/1/11. Born at 37w5d on 9/15/11. AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers

***BFP Chart***

"There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning.

• I have personally heard mixed things about bikram yoga while pregnant. I love Bikram and working out but as far as I have been reading it is not good for the baby to raise your body temperature. Bikram will more than likely raise your temperature to high. I am still lifting weights, doing classes, and cardio but I am just sticking to normal yoga.  One of the rules with working out while pregnant is to not get overheated. I would talk with your Doctor on this one but until then play it safe and do regular yoga or another workout. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker