Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

To those with college degrees and SAH

Did you always intend on being a SAHM? Do you plan to go to work when LO is older? Just wondering if it's worth it to spend the time and money on school if you're not using your degree..

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Daisypath Wedding tickers

Re: To those with college degrees and SAH

• I have a degree and I currently SAH but I do plan to return to work once my kids are in school. But beyond an education, my college degree was worth it for so much more to me. Life experience, friendships, skills beyond my major, etc. Is college for everyone? Nope. My husband didn't go (he went the military route) and makes enough money to comfortably support our family on one income. But for myself, personally, I think my college degree was entirely worth it even if it's not currently in use.
    DC1 (2.5) | DC2 (1) | #3 due 6.1.2012
  • I have a college degree and SAH.  I did not "always intend to stay at home", when I made the decision to go to college I was in high school.  I did not know what my life would involve, as far as getting married/having children etc., so I prepared myself the best way I knew how in order to be self sufficient financially. (not saying you must go to college to do so).  I agree with the PP who said that the college experience was worth so much more than just a degree.  

I have not decided yet if I will go back to work once my kids go to school. If I do, it most likely will be part time and not likely in the field of which I have a degree.  

If you are asking if I had it to do over again, would I still go to college, knowing I would SAH...yes - most definitely.  I have no regrets and yes Im still paying off student loans.

• Loading the player...
  • Yes, I always knew I would stay home if it worked out that way.  I don't see that as negating the importance of a degree though.  I will go back to work at some point, possibly as early as next year (if I can work it out part time).