3rd Trimester

pertussis shot.....

last week when i went to my weekly ob visit the nurse asked me if i wanted to get the pertussis shot. i declined because i had no education about it and just wasnt sure to get it or not. The nurse told me that they(dont know who they is) are recommending all pregnant women 28weeks and over to get the shot and also close relatives like father grandparents and aunts and uncles to get the shot also. Has anyone else been asked to get this shot and have they gotten it?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: pertussis shot.....

• I asked my doctor if it was recommended and she said very highly.  DH & I will be getting it along with our flu shots.  We requested that the grandparents get the flu shot, although they get it every year anyway. 
  • Got mine, but it was before I was pregnant.  I'm also a teacher, and since whooping cough is so easily spread, I told them to shoot me up! I'm sure your Dr. would be able to tell you if it was safe during pregnancy though.  Definitely get it after baby is born.  I had my in-laws get it as well because they cared for my 1st for about a year. 
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I already have gotten the shot because of my job, but I made my husband and close relatives get it as well. You should DEFINATLY get it. The consequence of not getting it could be fatal for LO. No need to risk it.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie First Birthday tickers Lilypie Maternity tickers
  • I got a pertussis shot when I was an infant and I was allergic to it. I haven't had a flu shot in like 10 years, just because I am always healthy and don't need it. Why would I want to get sick a week after getting one? Which is what usually happens...lol I opted out when the doctor asked me if I wanted one at 35 weeks.
  • Mine will be given after birth, before discharge.
  • I am getting mine right after I give birth. 

Lilypie - (ZESJ)Lilypie - (QAi1)