March 2012 Moms

f/u to "things my dr said he won't do during labor/birth"

i just got home from work and went back to look at all of the responses.  thanks for taking the time to respond, ladies!!  i wanted to respond to some of your questions and comments, but thought the post was too far buried, so here i am.  :)

i should have mentioned in my post, but i thought some/most already knew that i'm a certified professional midwife, that is the kind that only works out of the hospital, and have been for years.  i've delivered over a hundred babies and attended 200+ births where i was the assistant, in addition to 150ish births in midwifery school during my 10+ yr journey with midwifery.  i'm not just pulling some of my requests out of my butt.  Lol. 

geez, i sound like i'm applying for a job or something...lol. 

to Fergie+1, the reason i don't want the hep b vaccine is that my newborn baby isn't at risk for developing it.  i'm not saying that we'll never get it, i just don't think baby needs that in the first 24 hrs of life.  the eye ointment treats vaginal infections in the mom, specifically gonorrhea, which i don't have.  of course i would wait to leave the hosp until we are rested and everyone is ok.  at the birth centers i have worked at, in 3 diff states, the average time was 4-6 hrs after birth.  oh and the stitches...i have repaired plenty of women's bottoms and it really depends on the tear, sometimes you do more damage to the tissues by repairing it.  the body has an amazing ability to heal. 

sorry y'all, this post is long enough already...

ETA: fixed fellow bumpie's sn. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: f/u to "things my dr said he won't do during labor/birth"

• You are a midwife and you have been holding out on us??? Texas!!

I don't understand why a lot of your requests can't be granted? 

dx MF & FF IF
    Off B.C. Jan '06, started charting Feb '08, 2% morphology and PCOS, no O with meds,