March 2012 Moms

Worrying about maternity leave!! (any nurses here?)

I'm a nurse so it's widely thought that we have no problems getting jobs... soooo not true, especially for new grads! I finally landed the job I've been after since April and I start in 2 weeks or so. Of course being due in March I'm showing a tiny bit but not many people would be able to look at me and know "oh she's pregnant" other than my close friends and family, so my job doesn't know yet. I had not anticipated getting the job because I interviewed in July and they said they'd call the lucky few two weeks after, so I was pleasantly surprised over a month and a half later I got the call. Thinking I had not gotten the position I booked a trip in October for my baby shower with my family that lives across the country. Because of the job offer I had to cancel my trip and my shower =(. I'm worried that I won't be able to take a good amount of time for maternity leave like I was planning. And because I will only have been there for 6 months or so when my LO is due I can't take time under FMLA without possibly losing my job. It's a federal position with amazing benefits and pay so I need to keep it, but I wanna be able to stay home with my baby and not have to go back to work right away. So now no trips or showers in NY or UT with my family so I can rack up time off. Does anyone have any knowledge of how much maternity leave is generally given to federal employees, taking into account that I'll only being a new employee? ALSO I am having the worst time finding maternity nursing scrubs! I look online and grey's anatomy (which I usually wear) have like 3 styles and thats it! Any other similar brands you nurses, techs or CNA's have found? 

Re: Worrying about maternity leave!! (any nurses here?)