Working Moms

Working from Home

Hi Everyone,

The office I have been working out of for the past four years is being closed. Luckily, I have been allowed to transition into a work from home position. I will still be doing the same job (marketing) but now out of my home office.

I have a one year old who I have had in daycare full time. I'm wondering if I should keep my schedule the way it is and her in daycare the same amount of time (8am-4pm, M-F) or if I should try to "flex" my time more. Maybe try and work some early in the morning before she wakes up and then take her in a little later or pick her up early and work more at night.  Or will this type of schedule just make me feel crazy? 

For other work at home moms...would you say that you still stick to the core business hours and keep your LO's in daycare full days? Also, since I work in marketing, my work is more project based, I don't necessarily need to be available at certain times...I just need to get my work done.  Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Working from Home

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I WFH and am also in marketing. I have PT care right now (tue-thur 9-3) - I start work 2.5 hours before my LO wakes up (start work at 6 am, LO wakes up at 830) and she also naps for 2 solid hours a day. I make up time when needed nights/weekends. It really depends on what you want to give up. For me I'd rather spend more time with LO and I dont want to put her in daycare (i use a nanny who comes to my house). When I have LO #2 next month, I have realized I will need more help so my nanny will come mon-thur 9-5 and I will handle fridays.
  • Loading the player...
  • I work PT, but I still flex my hours. I work two days in the office with core hours and then I work on the morning, weekend some, naps, and night. Depending on the week sometimes I take her DC for another day or 1/2 day but sometimes I don't.