January 2011 Moms

Making baby food

I have never tried it before with my other kids but I would like to try it now. I have no ideas what works best. Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated...

Re: Making baby food

• Read up on it a little. For instance I didnt relize you couldnt use the water you steamed the veggies in, when you puree the food. Maybe I am the only one who didnt relize that but its good to know now.

Have you decided how you are going to store the food? Alot of people use ice cube trays. We use both trays and plastic jars I got off of amazon. I dont want to microwave his food and the jars fit nicely into the bottle warmer.

• imagejcole32444:

Read up on it a little. For instance I didnt relize you couldnt use the water you steamed the veggies in, when you puree the food. Maybe I am the only one who didnt relize that but its good to know now.

Have you decided how you are going to store the food? Alot of people use ice cube trays. We use both trays and plastic jars I got off of amazon. I dont want to microwave his food and the jars fit nicely into the bottle warmer.

Actually you can use the water you steam in. Only exceptions to that are the high nitrate vegetables like carrots.I'm making most of my food but am going to steer clear of making the high nitrate stuff just to be on the safe side.

OP, check out www.wholesomebabyfood.com for lots of helpful info. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Sorry should have been more clear. I was refering to the vegatables. Like the carrots I made two weeks ago before I did my reading. I had glanced at a few books prevously and nothing I read talked about not using the water. Now I feel like a terrible mommy for feeding him the carrots. He did love them though.