Breastfeeding

Oversupply/forceful letdown/engorgement issues.

Hi ladies. I'm new to BF (didn't BF my son) and I feel like I am having serious issues. I know it's still so early, but I need to resolve these issues ASAP.

My milk came in day 3/4 PP. Now it's leaking everywhere all the time! I can't get LO to latch well, she is always choking and dribbling milk out her mouth when she eats- even if I've expressed a little to ease the pressure. Every time she latches it burns like crazy, and she will latch and pull off many times in a nursing session. I know she is hungry because if she finds her fingers she sucks like mad.

My nips were cracked and bleeding, but they are healed now. They are still super freaking tender though. Her latch is so shallow, if I look down at her, her lips are practically pinched over the tip of my nipple only. Even if we start with a good, open latch, it ends this way. I probably don't need to tell anyone here how bad this hurts. I went to an LC a few days ago and I felt like she gave me jacked advice. She told me to only feed LO for 10-15 minutes at a time every 3 hours or so. She told me NOT to let LO snack and hang out on the boob. She did show me how to latch her properly, which was helpful but now my issue is keeping her latched!

I have a 15mo and a newborn, and I can't be writhing in pain all day long. My son needs some attention too. If anyone can help or at least sympathize, I would love it. Thanks, ladies.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Oversupply/forceful letdown/engorgement issues.

• Yeah, I don't agree with the LC's advice either.  Feed the baby when she wants to eat.  My DD would have been a total banshee, if I had held her to the 3 hour schedule.   If she starts to lose the good latch/slip off, remove her and latch again.  If you keep reinforcing the proper latch, she will get stronger and be able to stay on.  You will be in less pain with a proper latch.