December 2010 Moms

My doctor says that the baby is measuring two weeks smaller in weight than 33 weeks, 5 days (per the

I visited my doctor today for an ultrasound and was told that the baby was only measuring at 3.5 pounds (two weeks shy of the 33 weeks, 5 days), but that the baby hit all of the other measurement milestones.  She said that she wanted to induce me at 37 weeks.  I am a bit spooked.  Do you have any advice for me?

Re: My doctor says that the baby is measuring two weeks smaller in weight than 33 weeks, 5 days (per the

• Well I'm not a doctor, but if your LO is measuring small I don't understand why they would want to induce you early.  I'd think they would want your baby to stay in there as long as possible to grow and develop.

Also, my doctors have repeatedly told me that it is normal to measure plus or minus 2 weeks, so I don't understand why they are freaking out.  And the growth estimates are not completely reliable and can be off by as much as 20%.  Either there is more to this story or you might want to consider getting a second opinion. 

imageimageimageimageBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Well, I have had some issues with high blood pressure since my 3rd month and was hospitalized at 29 weeks (my BP tested at 180/110 during a routine doctor's appt. and I was hospitalized for 3 days).  I've been on bedrest ever since.  My doctor says me getting to 37 weeks would be the best thing.  I am so scared because I have done everything they have asked me to including all of the pills: Labetalol, baby aspirin and formerly Procardia (Procardia made me feel like I was dying, so she changed it).  I am due 12/30/10 and was hoping to deliver closer to that date.  Since the hospitalization, I have been so worried about the baby.  I hope it is at least 6 pounds and healthy.  My fingers are so crossed.  Thanks for your post.  :)
  • Loading the player...
  • Start eating a whole lot??

Sorry no advice besides that, but hope it works out for you!