3rd Trimester

MD or Midwife? Weigh In

So I had an MD for my first baby and I now have a midwife for my second. What a difference. I actually believe I am getting better care with the midwife and she takes my concerns and wishes more seriously than my MD did. My MD was quick to induce and had an attitude about c-sections that they were no big deal. My midwife takes nothing lightly but has such a calming presence. What are your experiences?

Re: MD or Midwife? Weigh In

• I have an MD and I like him a lot so far but it's my first so I guess we'll see! :)
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'm a physician. After experiencing medical student OB/GYN rotations, I am using a midwife. 
    BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I had an MD for both pregnancies, but they were completely different. I LOVE my new OB. She's great. 
    Mrs. 5/03*DD 2/07*DS1 5/09*DS2 7/12
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I have an MD and I love her. I would not be comfortable with someone who is not a physician, but that's just me.
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • I have a MD. I am high risk and it is a necessity. Even before being high risk I was with a MD though...I just prefer it.
  • I am extremely fortunate to have an MD who takes the time to listen to me and never makes me feel rushed.  He also has left a lot of decisions up to me that typically OBs try to force on patients.  Because of my history of prodromal labor resulting in a c-section with DD I wouldn't be comfortable with a midwife, but am so glad that option is out there for others.  
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersLilypie Second Birthday tickers
  • imageAprilLynn09:
    I have a MD. I am high risk and it is a necessity. Even before being high risk I was with a MD though...I just prefer it.