Babies: 9 - 12 Months

Come in for an angry rant about the state of affairs

1.  Gas prices.  The lack of effort to get us off foreign oil.  Price gouging.  The government's unwillingness / inability to provide relief in this area.

2. Families spend 15+K on childcare expenses.  You can only write off 5K for your taxes.

3.  Grocery prices increasing (especially wheat) because of droughts, etc.

4.  Health care costs.  I have very good health insurance.  And yet, I was charged (symbolically) 666$ for my yearly gyn visit because my insurance doesn't cover preventative care.  My c-section did not even cost me 666$. 

5. All of the above while so many people are out of work. 

6. By and large, students (I'm a teacher) place no value on education.  They are apathetic, at best.  I had an "average-level" student, a varsity athlete, in a wealthy suburban district refuse to take a quiz yesterday because it was difficult.  "Yeah, I'm not doing this."

7. Simultaneously, society blames teachers when students fail.  In fact, many people want merit pay for teachers.  They want to base my salary on kids who literally say to my face, "Yeah, I'm not doing this" when faced with a challenge, but that doesn't deter the merit pay seekers because, after all, it's "my job to motivate kids"-- which in turn brings me back to blame directed at teachers when students fail.

8. My husband's buddy is shacking up in our house because he's on hard times and is absolutely, utterly using us and draining us financially. 

9. Rush Limbaugh exists.

10. I suck at photography.

11.  Georgia is proposing a bill that would call for investigation of miscarriages to make sure women weren't trying to commit what they call pre-natal homicide.

12.  No spring in sight yet for Chicago.  Brrrrrr.

Devil

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Come in for an angry rant about the state of affairs

• :::raises hand and jumps up and down::: 

Can I play? Can I play?