Trying to Get Pregnant

6mm cyst on right ovary

I just got back from my vaginal ultrasound. The tech said everything looked normal in my uterus and my left ovary. In fact she could tell I ovulated from my left ovary this month!

But, I have a 6 mm cyst on my right ovary. My doc is out today so the tech took the images she needed and will wait til my doc gets back tomorrow to review them and call me with a game plan.  I asked her if it was large - she said "yes, most of the time they are smaller than that." I asked her if it was cancerous and she said "she didn't think it looked cancerous." But really, how would she know that?

Anyway, I am new to all this and know nothing about it. I'm obviously a little worried. Any insight would be much appreciate!

Re: 6mm cyst on right ovary

• Well the good news is you ovulate and your uterus looked good.  After finding out a game plan tomorrow, you'll probably feel more relieved.  Having some kind of control is what makes us feel a little better.

BabyFruit Ticker

Baby #5 due 12.31.15

• Cancerous cysts look different than regular follicular cysts. I wouldn't worry too much, cysts are really common.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • I have had experience with multiple types of cysts. I had a dermoid cyst removed from my right ovary in 2009. It was 7cm. I also have a cyst on my left over that is 2cm. They didn't remove that b/c they didn't want to scar both ovaries. 6mm is very small .... did you mean 6cm?

I wouldn't worry too much about it. Cancerous masses present pretty typically and the tech should know a benign cyst when she sees one. Keep us posted!

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerImage and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie First Birthday tickers