2nd Trimester

baby nurse experiences

We live in NYC with no family around, and many people have told us we NEED a baby nurse for at least a week or two after the baby comes.  Just curious if anyone has used one, and if so, for how long, and did you think it was worth it?  Thanks!

Re: baby nurse experiences

• I guess my question would be - will DH be around to help - and how long will he be home? 

• He may be home for two weeks.  He may get to take one week right away, then have to go back and take another one later.  We're not sure. Will depend on what's going on at his company at the time.

• Loading the player...
  • well I have two points of view. Im a pediactric nurse and I love the babies. but a home nurse will be there I think at night so you dont have to get up. me personally if you have the option to use them I would if you have no family around you so you get rest too especailly if this is your first baby
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I don't mean this to direspect anyone, but for me personally, I would never have one.  I feel it is my baby and I wouldn't want anyone to take care of the baby...even at night when it is screaming, besides DH and I.  Not even my mother or MIL helped us out.  Also, DH was only home for a few days and then it was me by myself.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I swear, only people in the NYC area are convinced that you NEEEED a baby nurse!

My office mate had one for a few days after she got home and she said it was great.

I am not planning to get one since a) my MIL can come over a little bit and help and b) I plan to breastfeed so I don't know exatly what the nurse would be doing.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'm going to be breastfeeding too, but I've heard they still help put the baby back to sleep after/change diapers in teh night, etc.  I've also heard they help  A LOT in getting the baby on a sleep schedule.