Babies: 3 - 6 Months

Pumping at work-#($&@)(!!!

I'm a teacher and since I'm EBF, I pump twice a day at work.  This morning, I had a custodian walk in on me pumping in my classroom.  The door was locked and there was a sign on handle that says "Please do not enter".  He walked in while I was trying to yell not to come in but apparently didn't hear me so he starts talking to me about a desk I needed fixed.  He didn't seem to realize what was going on so I outright said, "Could you please leave? I'm using my breast pump."  It suddenly sinks in what's going on and he darts out.  Not a huge deal because I'm all covered up but it still is kind of irritating that I have now had three staff members blatantly ignore the locked door with a "do not enter" sign.  To make matters worse, he tells his supervisor who tells my supervisor who comes down during passing period to make sure that I'm ok.   While I appreciate the sentiment, I just want to pump in privacy and be done with it.  I don't want to talk about it all the time, especially with half the male staff in the building.  I feel like pumping is already such a time and mental commitment that these events are just making it almost unbearable.

Is anyone else having problems at work?  Is there something I'm not doing that could make this less frustrating for me?

Re: Pumping at work-#($&@)(!!!

• I commend you for pumping and continuing the breastfeeding! It's great. I did it for three months but then my baby didn't want it anymore so I stopped. I would just put the sign-privacy please, do not enter, (pumping) and I would tell your supervisor! I know it is hard but keep at it!
    Anniversary BabyFruit Ticker
  • I made a sign that says "DO NOT DISTURB" with a large red stop sign & clipart of a nursing mother.  No one has walked in on me yet (& the door doesn't lock).
  • Loading the player...